OFFICIAL TRIBUTE2018-11-19T15:46:15+00:00

THE CONCERTS “THE OFFICIAL TRIBUTE TO JAMES LAST”

The concerts scheduled for April/May 2019 as part of “The Official Tribute to James Last” will not take place.

Unfortunately, demand for these events is not proving to be as strong as we had expected, is not in line with our experience, and is not enough to justify the production’s high cost.

It is with a heavy heart and only after intense deliberation that we take this decision.

Any tickets already purchased can be returned to the booking offices where they were purchased.

Tourdates

In honour of the 90th birthday of the most successful band leader of all times

To some people he may have been the inventor and pioneer of easy listening, to others Bremen’s uncrowned “Party King”. He had an incomparable knack for celebrating opulently orchestral pop music yet never forgot his love of jazz. Time and again, he could be found devoting his big band’s powerful drums, fantastic trumpets and expressive strings to unconventional musical crossover projects.

James Last would have celebrated his 90th birthday in 2019. That means there’s no better opportunity than this to follow his life’s motto – non-stop music – and honour him with an extremely special series of concerts: After having worked closely at James Last’s side for many years, a devoted team will present the biggest hits of his approximately 50-year career, live on stage. Many former members of his orchestra, plus a few of the best musicians Germany has to offer, are joining together with his former managers and the Last family to rekindle the memory of James Last.

The “New James Last Orchestra” will be directed by Lutz Krajenski, one of Germany’s foremost pianists, arrangers and band leaders. “James Last and I definitely have at least two things in common – our love of music and our desire to use that music to make people happy. That’s why having the chance to be a part of this tour and pay tribute to Hansi’s musical legacy isn’t just a great pleasure, it’s a huge honour,” explains Lutz Krajenski in eager anticipation of this unique and exceptional role.

The “Official Tribute to James Last” series of concerts is an homage to an artist who left behind a enormous musical and personal legacy in the history of German music. Every arrangement will remain as faithful as possible to the original without completely refraining from incorporating a few new musical inspirations. Just as James Last, who always infused his programmes with new ideas, would have wanted it.

Speaking on behalf of his family, his wife Christine said:

“I miss Hansi. Everybody misses him greatly. It’s hard to get used to living life without him. His incredible approach to life, his optimism and his music – I miss him dearly. That makes me all the happier to know that Semmel Concerts is organising a tribute in honour of his 90th birthday – a series of concerts that will bring his music back to the stage. After all, tomorrow is another day and this marks the creation of something new, just as Hansi would have liked it. A birthday party and a call to ‘keep on going!’ – that was his life’s motto.”

The “Official Tribute to James Last” series of concerts invites you to dream, dance exuberantly and celebrate. It will also present previously unseen footage offering exclusive insights into the life and career of this exceptional musician.

According to the agency’s business manager Dieter Semmelmann:

“My team and I were at Hansi’s side for quite a long time. This concert tour is our way of keeping his memory alive, celebrating him and thanking him. Hansi was always a forward-looking person and these concerts will be no different. Innovative and with music par excellence – that was always Hansi’s aspiration. In keeping with our sense of solidarity with him and our friendship, many of his musical companions and orchestra musicians, choir and string players will join together with new musicians under a new musical director to present an amazing concert experience.”

Semmel Concerts Entertainment was James Last’s global tour organiser during the last two decades of his creative career and still feels a strong bond with him.

Through this upcoming, impressive series of concerts, we want to ensure that the fabulous melodies and compositions of James Last are no longer in danger of languishing in vast music archives and the live feel of his music is not lost. Look forward to an extremely special musical highlight, to the enormous musical cosmos, energy and spirit of James Last, enriched by new ideas and bursting with a treasure trove of memories. Just as he would have wanted it:

The party goes on!

OFFICIAL TRIBUTE2018-11-19T15:46:53+00:00

DIE KONZERTE “THE OFFICIAL TRIBUTE TO JAMES LAST”

Die Konzerte „The Official Tribute to James Last“ im April/Mai 2019 werden nicht stattfinden.

Bedauerlicherweise beobachten wir eine Entwicklung der Nachfrage, die weder unseren Erwartungen und Erfahrungen noch dem hohen Kostenaufwand der Produktion entspricht.

Wir treffen diese Entscheidung sehr schweren Herzens und nach intensivem Abwägen.

Bereits erworbene Tickets können an den Vorverkaufsstellen, an denen sie erworben wurden, zurückgegeben werden.

Alle Tourdaten im Überblick

Zum 90. Geburtstag des erfolgreichsten Bandleaders aller Zeiten

Für die einen war er der Erfinder und Pionier des „Easy Listening“, für die anderen der ungekrönte „Party-König“ aus Bremen. Er zelebrierte wie kein Zweiter die opulent orchestrale Popmusik, vergaß aber nie seine Liebe zum Jazz und setze die kraftvollen Schlagzeuge, fantastischen Trompeten und stimmungsvollen Streicher seiner Big Band immer wieder für unkonventionelle musikalische Crossover-Projekte ein.

2019 hätte James Last seinen 90. Geburtstag gefeiert. Es gibt keinen besseren Anlass seinem Lebensmotto „nonstop music“ zu folgen und ihn mit einer ganz besonderen Konzertreihe zu ehren: Das langjährige und James Last eng verbundene Team wird die größten Erfolge seines rund 50 Jahre währenden Lebenswerkes live auf der Bühne präsentieren. Viele ehemalige Orchestermitglieder, ergänzt um einige der besten Musiker Deutschlands, lassen zusammen mit dem ehemaligen Management und der Familie Last die Erinnerungen an James Last wiederaufleben. Dabei wird das „neue James Last Orchestra“ unter der Leitung von Lutz Krajenski stehen, einem der besten Pianisten, Arrangeur und Bandleader Deutschlands.

„Mindestens zwei Dinge verbinden James Last und mich mit Sicherheit – die Liebe zur Musik und der Wunsch, viele Menschen damit glücklich zu machen. Daher ist es mir nicht nur ein großes Vergnügen, sondern auch eine besondere Ehre, Hansis musikalisches Vermächtnis mit dieser Tour zu würdigen. “ freut sich Lutz Krajenski auf seine einmalige und außergewöhnliche Aufgabe.

Die Konzertreihe „The Official Tribute to James Last“ ist eine Hommage an einen Künstler, der ein großes musikalisches und menschliches Vermächtnis in der deutschen Musikgeschichte hinterlassen hat.  Möglichst originalgetreu sollen die Arrangements wiedergegeben werden, ohne dabei ganz auf einige neue musikalische Ideen zu verzichten. Ganz im Sinne von James Last, der ebenfalls immer auch neue Ideen in seine Programme einfließen ließ.

Seine Frau Christine formuliert im Namen der Familie:

„Hansi fehlt mir und er fehlt uns allen. Das Leben ohne ihn ist eine sehr große Umstellung. Seine wunderbare Lebenseinstellung, sein Optimismus und seine Musik – ich vermisse ihn sehr. Umso mehr freue ich mich, dass Semmel Concerts im Gedenken an ihn zu seinem 90. Geburtstag Tribute-Konzerte veranstalten wird und seine Musik wieder live auf die Bühne kommt. Es geht weiter und Neues wird geschaffen, ganz nach Hansis Sinn. Eine Geburtstagsparty und „Weitermachen!“ – das war ja ohnehin sein erklärtes Lebensmotto.“

Die Konzertreihe „The Official Tribute to James Last“ lädt zum Träumen, ausgelassen Tanzen und Feiern ein und gibt darüber hinaus durch bis jetzt noch nie gezeigte Filmaufnahmen außergewöhnliche Einblicke in das Leben und die Karriere des Ausnahmemusiker James Last.

Geschäftsführer Dieter Semmelmann:

„Mein Team und ich waren für eine lange Zeit an Hansis Seite. Mit dieser Konzerttournee möchten wir an ihn erinnern, ihn feiern und uns bei ihm bedanken. Hansi war immer ein Mensch, der nach vorne geschaut hat, und so werden auch diese Konzerte sein. Innovativ und musikalisch herausragend, das war Hansis Anspruch. Unserer Verbundenheit und Freundschaft folgend werden eine Vielzahl seiner musikalischen Wegbegleiter und Orchester-Musiker, Chor und Streicher zusammen mit neuen Musikern und unter neuer musikalischer Leitung ein großartiges Konzerterlebnis präsentieren.“

Während der letzten, rund zwei Jahrzehnte seines kreativen Schaffens, war Semmel Concerts Entertainment der weltweit agierende Tourneeveranstalter von James Last, und ist ihm bis heute sehr verbunden.

Dass die wunderschönen Melodien und Kompositionen James Lasts nur in den Galaxien der Musikarchive schlummern und der Live-Charakter auf der Strecke bleibt – dieser Gefahr ist mit dieser Konzertreihe auf beeindruckende Weise entgegengewirkt. Man darf sich hier auf ein ganz besonderes musikalisches Highlight freuen, auf den großen musikalischen Kosmos sowie Energie und Spirit von James Last, bereichert um neue Akzente und erfüllt von einmaligen Erinnerungen. Ganz in seinem Sinne:

The Party Goes On!